Home » Sports » IPL 2020- Did an umpiring error costed KXIP its game?

IPL 2020- Did an umpiring error costed KXIP its game?

The Delhi Capitals versus Kings XI Punjab was no less than a thriller. It’s a testimony of how things can change at the last minute and one can truly change their luck.

Just when Kings XI Punjab was confident that they had one the match, they were hit in the gut by the DC player Marcus Stoinis. This Australian player pushed the game into a super over after he picked 2 wickets in consecutive balls.

With the score being tied to 157/8; the game took a toss and kept the viewers gripped to the seat for a long time.

But, in spite of all these gripping events, the moment of controversy remains unsettled. This makes us question if the match would have landed with a super over at all or not.

In the second to last over, on the third ball, a toss of the ball on the outside gave the batsman Agarwal a cover for 2 runs. But, the on-field umpire Nitin Menon said that is was a single run, considering that the first one was a short one.

Since that decision was stuck to, many fans, experts and other cricketers have spoken up. On looking at the replay, it is pretty clear that it was, in fact, an error of the Umpire.

“I don’t agree with the man of the match choice. The umpire who gave this short run should have been a man of the match. Short Run nahin tha. And that was the difference.” Tweeted Virender Sehwag.

“Terrible ‘one short’ decision in tonight’s IPL game. However if you need 1 run off the last 2 balls and don’t win… you only have yourself to blame. #WhatAMatch.” Said Scott Styris.

Many fans are also asking to reverse the match result and make a fair and square decision.

But only time will tell; meanwhile, sit back and enjoy the matches, and stay tuned!

Read more articles like these:

Match No.2 IPL 2020- DC vs KXIP match review, check here

Scroll to Top